Where You’re From

Chapter 3 Part 1

I walked into my class just as Mr. Grimes was doing roll call.

“So nice of you to join us, Ms. Jones.” His nasally voice grated on my ears. I cringed as heads turned in my direction.

Great. Just great. This day just keeps getting better and better. 

“You going inside or what?” A familiar voice said from behind me. I screamed jumping away, banging my knee into the door in the process.

“Fuck.” I gasped pain shooting up my knee.

“Ms. Jones!” Mr. Grime said disapprovingly.

“Are you okay?” Nate said equal parts concern and mirth.

I hated men. ” Fine.” I growled. “What? Are you following me now?”

“No, I’m in this class.” he said gesturing to the room, his dimple flashing me.

My face flushed. Of course he was. It was official the man upstairs hated me. This was punishment for stealing those jelly beans in the fourth grade.

“Sorry.” I mumbled before walking to one of the only empty seats in the very back. I sink into the my chair.

Leave a Reply

